Bucharest surprises me and seduces me. – An undiscovered European capital

The Bucharest Lounge

Bucharest surprises me  and seduces me.

– An undiscovered European capital

When we think of Paris or London, we think of the Eiffel Tower and Big Ben. When people think of Bucharest, I’m not entirely sure that they get a picture in their head at all. Few have traveled to Romania, and the country is unfortunately most associated with the beggars, corruption and poverty. In the 1980s, during the communist era, Swedes traveled more , paradoxically, to Romania on vacation. I was there, as a 13 -year -old, in 1985, got a pen pal from there and we wrote to each other for almost 20 years. One can say that I know Romania pretty well after a 31 years long relationship with the country and its’ people. Since 2011, I run a project where I rebrand Romania abroad: The Bucharest Lounge, in order to widen the horizon of what…

View original post 1,885 more words

Leave a Reply

